ASHP InterSections ASHP InterSections

April 13, 2017

Celebrating Former ASHP CEOs: Henri R. Manasse Jr., Ph.D., Sc.D. (Hon.), FFIP

Paul W. Abramowitz, Pharm.D., Sc.D. (Hon.), FASHP

AS PART OF ASHP’s yearlong 75th anniversary celebration, I will be recognizing our three former Chief Executive Officers: Drs. Henri R. Manasse Jr., Joseph A. Oddis, and Gloria Francke. This blog will recognize our most recent CEO, Dr. Manasse, who served ASHP from 1997 to 2011.

Dr. Manasse came to ASHP after a long and illustrious career as a leader in academic healthcare. He was Vice President for Health Sciences at The University of Iowa and Chairman of the Board of the University of Iowa Health System. Prior to that, he was interim Vice Chancellor for Health Services at the University of Illinois at Chicago Medical Center, and Dean and Professor of Pharmacy Administration at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy. In 1988 he served as president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. He is also a member of the prestigious National Academy of Medicine (formally the Institute of Medicine) of the National Academy of Sciences and a recipient of pharmacy’s highest honor, the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award.

Dr. Manasse came to ASHP during a time of transition and change, and he helped the society become an even more outward-facing organization. Under his leadership, ASHP became increasingly engaged in proactive government advocacy and formed strong relationships with a wide variety of stakeholders in medicine, nursing, standards-setting bodies, hospital organizations, payers, and many others. He played a vital role after the 1999 Institute of Medicine Report, “To Err is Human,” to take ASHP’s longtime focus on patient safety, and work with stakeholders in all segments of society to help drive fundamental changes that have helped improve patient safety throughout the entire healthcare system.

In 2006 he served as Chair of the Board of Governors of the National Patient Safety Foundation and co-chaired the Safe Practices Steering Committee and the Advisory Committee for Executive Leadership of the National Quality Forum. He also chaired The Joint Commission’s Sentinel Event Alert Advisory Committee and served on the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee. In 2005, he was elected as the Professional Secretary of the Board of Pharmaceutical Practice of the International Pharmaceutical Federation. He also served on the Board of Advisors of the Association of Academic Health Centers project on the Future of the Health Professions Work Force.

Dr. Manasse’s time as CEO was also a period of growth for ASHP in numerous areas including membership, educational conferences, residency accreditation, publishing, and many others. He also oversaw the formation of many of ASHP’s highly successful pharmacy practice sections and forums, which include the Sections of Clinical Specialists and Scientists, Ambulatory Care Practitioners, Pharmacy Informatics and Technology, Inpatient Care Practitioners, Pharmacy Practice Managers, and the Student and New Practitioners Forums.

Henri was and still is a strong advocate for the leadership roles that pharmacists play as direct patient care providers. He has been a longtime advocate for the enhanced roles that educated, PTCB certified, and licensed pharmacy technicians must play to ensure that all patients have access to a pharmacist on the interprofessional team who is responsible for their medication therapy. Dr. Manasse has dedicated his nearly 50-year career to continuously elevating the entire pharmacy profession with the singular goal of ensuring that medication use is optimal, safe, and effective for all people all of the time.

I had the pleasure of chairing the ASHP CEO Search Committee that led to Dr. Manasse’s selection and later serving as Treasurer of ASHP during Henri’s time as CEO. Our time together and ongoing friendship is something that I will always value. Henri is a true leader and has been a mentor to countless pharmacists, student pharmacists, ASHP staff members, board members, and many others.

As we celebrate ASHP’s 75th anniversary, please join me in thanking Dr. Manasse for his exceptional contributions to ASHP and to the entire pharmacy profession.



March 27, 2017

ASHP’s 75th Anniversary: Celebrating the Past, Creating the Future

Paul W. Abramowitz, Pharm.D., Sc.D. (Hon.), FASHP

ASHP TURNS 75 THIS YEAR, and we have a yearlong campaign filled with surprises and exciting events for our members to celebrate this significant milestone. The last 75 years have been marked by so many ASHP-led advances in pharmacy practice, including: the creation of postgraduate residency training, clinical pharmacy, enhanced recognition of pharmacists as vital members of the interprofessional team, the largest gathering of pharmacists in the world — the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting — and so many more.

Although much has been accomplished over the last 75 years, our focus remains on the future, and ensuring that more and more people have access to the direct patient care services of pharmacists. Therefore, the theme of our yearlong celebration is Celebrating the Past, Creating the Future.

The founders of ASHP were visionaries who understood and learned from the past but realized that pharmacists must transform their practices. They worked hard to create a practice future designed to dramatically improve the care of their patients. These leaders included legends such as Gloria Niemeyer Francke, ASHP’s first CEO; Harvey A.K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president; and Donald Francke, ASHP’s second president; and, of course, Joseph A. Oddis, ASHP’s CEO for over 37 years. These are just a few of the great leaders who realized very early that pharmacists must do so much more than dispense drugs, and that ASHP should be the organization that makes it happen on behalf of patients.

Prior to the 1920s, hospital pharmacy was not a strong, well-organized component of the profession. In 1936, a subsection of hospital pharmacists in APhA was formed and, for the first time, hospital pharmacists had a voice on the national pharmacy stage. In 1942, the American Society of Hospital Pharmacists was formed with 153 charter members who worked exclusively in hospital settings.

Today ASHP has nearly 45,000 members who treat patients in every healthcare setting, including in ambulatory clinics, hospitals, and throughout the entire continuum of patient care. ASHP members are involved in all facets of pharmacy practice and include inpatient pharmacists, ambulatory care pharmacists, clinical specialists and scientists, informatics experts, practice managers, student pharmacists, residents, new practitioners, pharmacy technicians, and others.

We owe our success to our dedicated members, which is why we would like you to help us celebrate our diamond anniversary. We have a number of special activities scheduled throughout the year, culminating in a grand finale celebration at the Midyear Clinical Meeting in Orlando in December. We also are planning significant activities for key ASHP events including the Summer Meetings in June, the Preceptors Conference in August, Policy Week in September, and the Leaders Conference in October.

Thank you so much for being a member of ASHP, and for everything you do for your patients. With your help, we can continue to improve patient care and support you in your professional endeavors.

Please join us in celebrating this important anniversary — and stay tuned for more details as we roll out our 75th anniversary celebration.



Powered by WordPress